Student Records (Registrar / Admin Needs)Tuition Waivers and Exemptions
Students applying for a tuition waiver are responsible for knowing the following information:
The student is financially responsible for ALL tuition and fees upon registration
The student is required to complete a Waiver Application and submit it no later than the 5th DAY OF EACH SESSION (ADD/DROP DEADLINE), which can be found on the academic calendar available on the TCC website. Homeless waivers will not be accepted more than seven (7) days before the first day of class. Waiver Applications are available at the Admissions and Records Office located on the 2nd floor of the Student Union.
Waivers will not be retroactively applied to previous semesters/years. Failure to submit a waiver by the posted deadline will result in the student being fee liable.
Waiver applications and all required supporting documentation must be submitted to the Admissions and Records Office at the same time. Incomplete applications will not be accepted.
STUDENTS ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR NOTIFYING TCC'S ADMISSIONS AND RECORDS OFFICE REGARDING ANY CHANGES IN CREDIT HOURS FOR THE SEMESTER.
Any waiver amount a student receives will be factored into his/her Financial Aid award package and might affect one's eligibility for other This paperwork is time-sensitive. If the student's Financial Aid package does not reflect this waiver prior to the disbursement of aid, it is the students responsibility to report this payment to the Financial Aid Office as an income source. Otherwise, the student might be "over-awarded" and be required to repay financial aid to the College. Similarly, Waiver Applications turned in after the specified deadline might result in a financial aid over-award.
- Students are responsible for paying any charges not covered by the Tuition must be paid, or arrangements must be made, by the posted fee payment deadline. Students who have an outstanding balance will be given a Financial Hold, which will stop future registration. These students may not be able to register for classes for the next semester or future semesters, nor will they receive grades, transcripts, diplomas, or obtain access to TCC services, including health and recreation services, and other services provided for paying students.
This waiver is for any student who lacks a fixed, regular, and adequate nighttime residence, or whose primary nighttime residence is a public or private shelter designed to provide temporary residence for individuals intended to be institutionalized, or a public or private place not designed for, or ordinarily used as, a regular sleeping accommodation for human beings. (Florida Statute 1009.25(2)(f)). This waiver covers tuition and all additional in-state fees, including lab, material and supply fees, and auxiliary fees. A letter must accompany this waiver from a local public or private shelter each semester. Faxes are not accepted. Waivers will not be accepted prior to seven days before the beginning of a semester. Contact information should be included on this application in case there are questions that arise during processing.
This waiver is for any student who is or was at the time he or she reached the age of 18, in the custody of the Department of Children and Family Services or a relative; who was adopted from DCF after 5/5/1997; or was placed in a guardianship by a court after spending at least 6 months in the custody of DCF after reaching 16 years of age. . (Florida Statute 1009.25(1)(C)). This waiver covers tuition and all additional fees, including lab, material and supply, and auxiliary fees, until 28 years of age is reached. In order to receive this waiver, supporting documentation from the Department of Children and Family Services is required. Students must submit the waiver application each semester before the 5th day of classes.
This waiver is for any out-of-state veterans (including their spouse and dependents) who are honorably discharged veterans of the U.S. Armed Forces, U.S. Reserve Forces, or the National Guard, who reside in the state while enrolled in a Florida College System institution, state university, and/or technical career center (Florida Statute 1009.26). This waiver covers the out-of-state tuition and fees. In order to receive this waiver, a DD-214 form issued at the time of separation from service must be submitted as documentation. Students are required to show proof of residing in Florida (ex. Driver license, lease, or other documentation proving the student is now living in Florida). Students must submit the waiver application each semester before the 5th day of the classes.
This waiver is for any student who is a recipient of a Purple Heart, or another combat decoration superior in precedence which was awarded for valor. (FL Board of Governors Regulation 7.008-12). This waiver covers tuition and all additional fees, including lab, material and supply, and auxiliary fees, for up to 110% of required credit hours throughout one's undergraduate career. The recipient must currently be, or was at the time of the military action that resulted in the awarding of a Military Honor, a Florida resident. In order to receive this waiver, a DD-214 form issued at the time of separation from service must be submitted as documentation. Students must submit the waiver application each semester before the 5th day of classes.
Out-Of-State Fee Waiver for Select Florida High School Students
Effective July 1, 2014, applicable for fall 2014 and thereafter, House bill 851 amended s.1009.26, Florida States, Fee Waivers, to authorize an out-of-state fee waiver for select students who attended a high school in Florida. Applicants for this waiver must have attended a Florida high school for three consecutive years immediately prior to graduation from a Florida high school, submitted an official high school transcript providing evidence of high school attendance and graduation, and submitted an admissions application to a Florida College System or State University System institution within 24 months of graduation. Receipt of this out-of-state waiver does NOT constitute classification as a Florida resident for tuition purposes. Students who receive this waiver remain classified as out-of-state (Non-Florida) resident for tuition purposes. A student who is granted this waiver is NOT eligible for state financial aid, including Bright Futures. Students must submit the waiver application each semester before the 5th day of classes.
Line of Duty
This waiver is for any student who is a spouse or child of a deceased Fire Fighter, Law Enforcement Officer, Correctional Officer, Correctional Probation Officer, Teacher and School Administrator killed in the line of duty. (Florida Statute 112.19, 112.191). This waiver covers tuition and all additional fees, including lab, material and supply, and auxiliary fees, up to 120 credits throughout your undergraduate or postgraduate This waiver can be revoked if the student is not in good standing with the College. Benefits of the spouse must commence within 5 years after death occurs, and remain active until the 10th anniversary of the death. Benefits of the child are active until 25 years of age is reached. In order to receive this waiver, supporting documentation from the appropriate agency/office, as well as a death certificate, is required. Students must submit the waiver application each semester before the 5th day of classes.